Posted on

Hercu-Liz Project: Zeussanna the Amazon Queen

 

Zeussanna designs

Zeussanna designs

IMG_4249

Zsuzsanna=Zeussanna

Zsuzsanna=Zeussanna

After all the beasts and labours Hercu-Liz must conquer, I wanted there to be an eternal challenge for her.  A main rival, of equal or even greater godlike powers – like Skeletor is to He-Man.  Mumm-Ra is to Lion-O.

I was looking at Muscle and Bodybuilding magazines to copy and draw the muscular physiques from, for my Minotaur designs.  I found in the issue I brought an advert for ‘Scitec Nutrition’ with a bodyfitness champion modelling for it.  What caught my attention (apart from her inspiring form), was this female bodybuilder’s name: Zsuzsanna Toldi.

As soon as I saw the letters, it was like they all moved around and jumbled up to create the name ‘Zeus-Sanna’!  I thought this was the perfect name for my main enemy for Hercu-Liz, with the ‘Zeus’ part of the name being a personal connection to her.

There is potential with this character design as I wanted to include some Amazonian Warriors in this project, as this was one of Hercules’s labours in which he had to obtain the girdle from the Amazon Queen.  Zsuzsanna Toldi being a female bodybuilder/fitness champion helped with my sketchbook designs and artwork as she is practically an amazonian herself.

 

Leave a Reply

