Posted on

Fine Arts: Anti-Trolling Traces

For Fine Arts, our broad brief was around a theme of ‘Traces’, although this was just a helpful starting point as the final design did not have to be linked to this.

IMG_1358

We had to search the room for ‘traces’ of previous fine arts students remains… ( not dead bodies but the things they’d left behind.) I found a half used  tube of bright red fake blood and a kitchen fork. From these I created a very sticky Rorschach image. We could do what we wanted- mistakes were not an issue.

After this and learning to become even more experimental, I wanted my next work to link to animals. My initial thoughts were of dinosaurs- my first intention was to merge dinosaurs/ extinct species and modern animals together in a weird taxidermy picture eg a Velociraptor with bat wings or a Dodo with a lobster.

But, I wanted to do something based on an old Goat skull I’ve had for years…. I find it a fascinating object- it’s appearance, the past that could be behind it.  Saying that, how could I link it to traces?

IMG_1366 FINE ART

My next path was to do a brainstorm of everything I could think of relating to goats/traces.

Should I make a huge bust? Make it into a helmet? As it was spanish breed should it be painted in red, yellow and black? Play with colours- paint it vibrant shades of pink, purple, blue?

At lunch – Eureka– The children’s fairy tale ‘Three Billy Goats Gruff’ was always a favourite as a child. Finally, the troll in the story was defeated by the final goat by butting it off the bridge!

I had the idea of goat vs troll- whichbecame trolling, then internet trolling. “Being a pest on the internet just as you can.

WOW ≈    A Troll from Blizzards World of Warcraft Series.

I only had one attempt at this as I only had one resource- goat skulls aren’t easy to come by. So, a simple but effective idea was always my plan.

FINE ART

Painting the skull white, leaving the horns natural colour was a way to make the images stand out more. Also generally backdrops for computer screen  are pale.

FINE ARTFINE ART

Finally I researched logos of sites ( old and new) where trolling predominantly happens. Not wanting to over clutter the skull, I selected the most recognisable designs: from chat sites, social networks and  the internet.

FINE ART

FINE ARTFINE ARTFINE ARTFINE ART

Fine art

The Final Display

FINE ART

FINE ART

4 responses to “Fine Arts: Anti-Trolling Traces

  1. A cogent and evocative work which, due to its immediate, hard-hitting image, would suitably and appropriately act as a logo for anti-trolling and a suitable epitaph for its young victims. For example it would make an excellent warning notice if attached to the opening page of the ASK website.

  2. Such an original piece! Who else could have come up with the trolling theme when presented with a Spanish goat skull? Nicely done

  3. evilyn101

    At last you found a use for that goat skull! Great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

